A Reminder

It is all worth it. Every day, even a sad day blurred by headaches and filled with business meetings, is magical and infinite. This dance, this particular proton dance, will never come again. This tune we’re too busy to hear will not be played again. Never forget to be thankful for your life.

I found this on Bobulate today. I needed to read it. In fact I’ve needed to read it for months, but more on that in later posts. What I enjoyed most is how Liz Danzico (the brains behind Bobulate) linked the idea to an article by Alain de Botton who references the ancient Roman philosopher, Seneca. I just finished reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society in which one of the characters refused to read anything other than Seneca. Although a fictional story, Seneca helped the character navigate the second World War and the German occupation of the island. And, I agree that there is something to be said about being aware that the worst can happen and being thankful when it doesn’t or, as the quote suggests, thankful when it does.

This loosely reminds me of something I read about in Donald Miller’s A Million Miles In A Thousand Years in which he explains that the people of Denmark generally rank higher in levels of happiness because they tend to set lower expectations. It’s not that they think everything will turn out poorly, it’s simply that they don’t set their sights miles high and are happier for it. There’s a connection there, between the Danes and Seneca, in my mind, although I’m too lazy to spell it out. In my search for a quote from Miller I found this which also seems related.

Please forgive the scattered and loose connections today. Maybe all I should have said was “I love this quote.”

