Reading List

A few months back, upon accepting a spot on Roehampton University’s MA in Children’s Literature, I was sent a preliminary reading list. The list includes many classic titles (The Hobbit, The Wind in the Willows, etc.), critical and theoretical works about Children’s Literature, and a list of authors I should become familiar with. Among that list of authors is Diana Wynne Jones, a British author of young adult fantasy and science fiction novels.

I knew that one of the girls from our youth group was a huge fan of Diana Wynne Jones and so I asked if I could borrow a book from her and for a recommendation of what to start with. She was so ecstatic at my request that, along with her suggested Diana Wynne Jones novel, The Lives of Christopher Chant, she also included this letter.

Her response was so awesome! It reminded me how wonderful it is to be surrounded by people who understand and share your interests. Thanks, Katherine, for sharing your love of Diana Wynne Jones with me!

