There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly

I read about a retelling of the children’s song  There Was An Old Lady Who Swallowed A Fly by graphic designer Jeremy Holmes in Uppercase Magazine and I can’t seem to stop thinking about it! It’s tough to tell from the picture below, but the action of the story takes place in this creepy old woman’s stomach. I haven’t seen it myself, but I’ve read that at the end of the book, when the woman dies, the eyes at the top of the book shut. How creepy and fun! For a more extensive review and pictures go here and for a video preview of the book go here.

I love it when good, creative design is used in children’s literature. Margie McMillian¹ would say that good children’s book design is “respectful of the child.” Which reminds me of this great alphabet book where animals, letters, and typography collide.

¹Margie McMillian was the delightful co-owner of Granny Bates, an independent children’s bookstore in St. John’s, Newfoundland. Granny Bates, sadly, closed it’s doors in 2009. Whenever I popped in to browse the selection, Margie and I would end up chatting about children’s books and our personal lives, leaving only enough time for a rushed exploration of the latest stock and Margie’s suggestions.

 


Leave a Reply

