A Thought On Travel

I’ve been thinking a lot about travel and my experiences as a flight attendant, which led to the following thought.

There’s a difference between travel and movement. Celerity in itself does not create a travel experience.

Sunday morning Jonathan and I spent three hours sitting and walking along the Thames in the warm sunshine, we were only 5 minutes away from our flat in a place we’ve been many times before, but it felt like we were in another country, like we were on vacation. I traveled further, that is to say that I had a more deeply resonant experience, in the slow meandering along the water where I live than in the thousands of miles I covered as a flight attendant.

Leave a Reply

