1.4 Billion Reasons To Think Differently About Poverty

2 weeks ago I saw The Global Poverty Project’s presentation of 1.4 Billion Reasons for the second time. The premise of the presentation is simple. There are currently 1.4 billion people in the world who live in extreme poverty, which gives us 1.4 billion reasons to work towards ending extreme poverty. The presentation revealed that it is actually possible to see the end of extreme poverty within my lifetime. This idea totally changed the way I think about poverty. Previously, poverty seemed like an impossible global challenge to overcome, something that would persist regardless of the money I donated to aid organizations or how many second hand books I purchased at Oxfam. However, I now know that there are practical and strategic efforts that I can make that will help bring an end to extreme poverty.

The 1.4 Billion Reasons presentation has inspired me to learn more about poverty and to change my buying habits. Both of these efforts will require a bit of research. Over the coming weeks and months I’ll chronicle my findings here. While it will be useful for me to gather information here, I secretly hope that you will also find this information useful. I’ll do the leg work and you can just sit back and change the world. Deal? Deal.

 

Leave a Reply

