Live Below The Line Day Two: Community

Image

If I’m honest, I’m too hungry and tired to care enough to blog right now. This is the second day in a row where I’ve literally experienced hunger pangs after leaving too long of a gap between meals without my usual snacks in between. I just keep thinking about the scrambled eggs on portobello mushrooms I’ll scarf down on Saturday morning, followed by the smoothies Jonathan and I will consume en route to Borough Market. My life will return to normal (or leaning toward the excessive) on Saturday, but there are 1.2 billion people in the world right now who do not get a weekend respite from poverty.

As curmudgeonly as I am feeling, I am so grateful for the sense of community that surrounds this experience. Those of us doing live below the line in my office gravitated towards each other this morning and sipped our tap water while the rest of the staff devoured scrumptious croissants, pain au chocolate, porridge, and fresh fruit during staff meeting. But we didn’t complain. Instead, we laughed at the trials and mishaps we faced and encouraged one another to keep going.

That same sense of community was evident during our group shopping trip to Asda on Sunday afternoon. We overheard the deliberation and calculation of 3 other people who we had never met before. I turned to them and said ‘is this for Live Below the Line?’ to which they said yes and we shared our concerns about the most cost effective items. It’s amazing to think that I’m not doing this alone.

And it’s not just the UK. I am thrilled to know that I am living below the line alongside countless others from Canada, the US, New Zealand, and Australia. There are thousands of us living below the line this week and in the weeks to come and all of us are united around the common goal to see extreme poverty eradicated within a generation. We will not let the 1.2 billion people who live below the poverty line everyday stand alone. We know that what they are experiencing isn’t right. We will come alongside them in support and solidarity because we know that we’re all in this together.

